Author Topic: touch powder  (Read 15001 times)

Offline Jeannedarc

• Regular Members
  • Snuiter
touch powder
« on: July 05, 2013, 11:42:35 AM »
many years ago i was employed by the Atomic Energy Corp. of SA. i was employed as an analytical chemist and in the normal day to day routine i not only performed chemical analysis on the normal wet methods such as titrations etc but also making use of instruments for analysis. now people always think it must be glamorous to be a scientist - it must be when viewing programmes on the telly such as CSI but believe me there is nothing glamorous in being a scientist. i was also the safety rep for our laboratories and i had to do inspections on a weekly basis to ensure all and sundry were following the rules and perform their chemical tasks according to the safety rules pertaining to laboratories.

then, one fine morning i found myself all by myself in the lab - not a soul other than me present. now, as an analytical chemist i have heard of and also studied the chemistry around touch powder. all the years spent in the labs and not once did i thought of making touch powder, oh no not natalie-dominique. my colleagues did make touch powder to play pranks on other colleagues and you may well ask why would they do such a thing. there is only one reason and that is - it's terribly funny when some-one touches a doorhandle and the handle goes off with a bang with the person touching the handle has a lift off vertically accompanied by some very crude language. and i decided to make touch powder. i had an empty bottle of iodine crystals ( theres always crystals sticking to the bottom of the bottle) so i thought - let me rinse out the iodine crystals with ammonia and filter off the slurry of iodine and ammonia or rather ammonium iodide.